Home » List of members

List of members

namecountryinstitutionemailprimary focus of research within Irish English
Amador-Moreno, CarolinaNorwayUniversity of BergenCarolina.Amador@uib.nocorpus linguistics; pragmatics; (historical) sociolinguistics, stylistics/fictional discourse
Ávila-Ledesma, Nancy E. SpainUniversity of Extremaduranavila@unex.escorpus linguistics; corpus pragmatics; emotion studies; (historical) sociolinguistics
Barron, AnneGermanyLeuphana Universität Lüneburgbarron@leuphana.depragmatics, variational pragmatics, corpus linguistics, sociolinguistics, acquisition of Irish English
Bessell, NicolaIrelandUniversity College CorkN.Bessell@ucc.iePhonetics, phonology, acoustic analysis, dialect variation Irish English and Newfoundland English, sociolinguistics
Bonness, Dania JovannaNorwayWestern Norway University of Applied Sciencesdjb@hvl.no(historical) sociolinguistics, corpus linguistics, morphosyntax, intergenerational variation, Irish emigrants in New Zealand
Cesiri, DanielaItalyCa' Foscari (University of Venice)daniela.cesiri@unive.itLate Modern Irish English, idioms, lexicology, semantics, Irish fairy tales, travel writing
Clancy, BrianIrelandMary Immaculate Collegebrian.clancy@mic.ul.iecorpus linguistics; corpus pragmatics; variational pragmatics; Limerick English
Diamant, GiliIsraelThe Hebrew University of Jerusalemgili.diamant@mail.huji.ac.ildiscourse analysis, varieties of Irish English, Clare English, language contact, corpus linguistics, cognitive linguistics, construction grammar
Diskin-Holdaway, ChloéAustraliaThe University of Melbourne chloe.diskin@unimelb.edu.ausociolinguistics, language attitudes, discourse-pragmatic variation, 'like', second dialect acquisition, sociophonetics
Farr, FionaIrelandUniversity of Limerickfiona.farr@ul.ieIrish-English pragmatics, institutional discourse (educational in particular)
Filppula, MarkkuFinlandUniversity of Eastern Finlandmarkku.filppula@uef.fiIrish English grammar, present-day and earlier; influence of Irish; Irish English and other 'contact Englishes'
Fuchs, RobertGermanyUniverity of Hamburgrobert.fuchs@uni-hamburg.deComparison with other varieties of English
Hickey, RaymondGermany, IrelandUniversity of Duisburg-Essen, University of Limerickraymond.hickey@uni-due.dehistory of Irish English; sociolinguistics of Dublin English; language contact; standardisation; varities of English world-wide
Kelly-Holmes, HelenIrelandUniversity of Limerickhelen.kelly.holmes@ul.iecommodification; media; advertising
Kirk, JohnAustriaUniversity of Viennajohn.kirk@univie.ac.atCorpora, pragmatics, discourse markers, lexicology, world Englishes, (Ulster-) Scots, Hiberno-English, SPICE-Ireland
Lucek, StephenIrelandUniversity College Dublinstephen.lucek@ucd.iesociolinguistics; language attitudes; language ideologies; perceptual dialectology; Cognitive Sociolinguistics; adolescent language use
Maguire, WarrenUnited KingdomUniversity of Edinburghw.maguire@ed.ac.ukphonology, historical phonology, Mid-Ulster English, especially the dialect of south-west Tyrone
McCafferty, KevinNorwayUniversity of Bergenkevin.mccafferty@uib.noVariation and change generally
McCarthy, MichaelUnited KingdomUniversity of Nottinghammactoft@cantab.netspoken corpora pragmatics response markers
Migge, BettinaIrelandUniversity College Dublinbettinamigge@ucd.iesociolinguistics, migration, language contact
Mohr, SusanneNorwayNorwegian University of Science and Technology susanne.mohr@ntnu.nolanguage contact (esp. with Irish Sign Language), multimodality, im/politeness
O'Dwyer, FergusIrelandMarino Institute of Education Fergus.O'Dwyer@mie.iediscourse, analysis, Dublin English, humour, sociolinguistics, sociophonetics, sociopragmatics
Peters, ArneGermanyUniversity of Potsdamarne.peters@uni-potsdam.decognitive sociolinguistics; variationist sociolinguistics; corpus linguistics; language contact (Irish-English); Irish (Gaeilge)
Roberts, JaneUnited KingdomUniversity of Londonjane.roberts@kcl.ac.ukinterest in the history of English spoken / written in Ireland
Ronan, PatriciaGermanyTU Dortmund Universitypatricia.ronan@udo.edulanguage contact (Irish-English), Irish language
Schneider, Klaus P.GermanyUniversity of Bonnk.schneider@uni-bonn.depragmatics, variational pragmatics, metapragmatics, (im)politeness research, speech acts (e.g. responses to thanks and compliments), discourse (e.g. small talk)
Schulte, MarionGermanyUniversität Bielefeldmarion.schulte@uni-bielefeld.desociophonetics, multlilingualism, sociolinguistics, Irish English as L2
Schweinberger, MartinAustraliaUniversity of Queensland m.schweinberger@uq.edu.auvariationist sociolinguistics, linguistic variability
Shimada, TamamiJapanMeikai Universityshimada@meikai.ac.jpmorphosyntax, information structure, contact linguistics, sociolinguistics
Tallon, KateIrelandTrinity College Dublintallonka@tcd.iephonology, bilingualism, language contact, Gaeltacht Englishes, Gaeilge, gensis and development of Irish English
Terrazas-Calero, Ana MariaIrelandMary Immaculate College amterrazas@unex.esfictionalized representations of Irish English; Sociolinguistics; Corpus Linguistics; Corpus Stylistics; Corpus Pragmatics; Pragmatic markers; Identity enregisterment in fiction
Theveniaut, AirelleFranceAix-Marseille Universitéairelle.theveniaut@univ-amu.frprosody, Gaeltacht, sociolinguistics, Irish language influence
Tully, Cassandra SianSpainUniversity of Extremaduratully@unex.esidentity, Irishness, language markers, masculinity, gender studies
Vaughan, ElaineIrelandUniversity of LimerickElaine.Vaughan@ul.iepragmatics of Irish English,  corpus pragmatics,  distinctive features of Irish English as a variety, pragmatic markers, mediated representations of the varieties of English spoken in Ireland
Walshe, ShaneSwitzerlandUniversity of Zurichshane.walshe@es.uzh.chmediated language, fictionalised discourse, stylistics, perceptual dialectology
Wolf, GöranGermanyGeorg-August-Universität Göttingen goeran.wolf@uni-goettingen.delanguages and language contact in the North of Ireland, Northern Irish English and Ulster Scots
Bongiorno, JuliaFranceAix-Marseille Universitéjulia.bongiorno@univ-amu.frprosody; intonation; Dublin; variation; uptalk
Herment, SophieFranceAix-Marseille Universitésophie.herment@univ-amu.frprosody, phonetics, phonology, intonation, sociophonetics, influence of Irish intonation